Drum Major for Service Awards

2023 Award Honorees

Youth Leader of Tomorrow –  Zoe Scott

Adult Community Leader - Kristin Davenport

Adult Community Leader -  Russell Forrester

Outstanding Organization - Touching Hearts at Home

The Martin Luther King Jr. Community Coalition of Lebanon, Ohio is seeking nominations for its Drum Major for Service Awards. These awards are designed to recognize the contributions of those who exemplify the ideals of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. as described in his sermon on the Drum Major Instinct. Specifically, we are looking for three (3) categories of nominees:

Youth – Leaders of Tomorrow

• Sustained effort to promote equal opportunity for all and embrace the image of Dr. King.

• Excellence in education and extra curricular activities.

• Demonstrate strong and growing commitment to service.

Adult Community Leaders

• Sustained effort to promote equal opportunity for all and embrace the image of Dr. King.

• Excellence in a field of endeavor, thereby serving as a role model for all people.

• Demonstrate strong and growing commitment to service.

• Assist in ensuring equal opportunity and career advancement opportunities for all people.

Organizations (corporation, business or group)

• Sustained effort to promote equal opportunity for all and embrace the image of Dr. King.

• Encourage the participation and inclusion of all peoples and groups in public service, committees, activities or events.

• Design and implement programs that inspire mutual respect, understanding and sensitivity for persons of diverse backgrounds.

• Promote and advance mutual respect, understanding and appreciation for diversity.

NOW DO YOU KNOW A DRUM MAJOR? If so, please take the time to assist us in recognizing individuals in our community and/or organizations whose contributions promote social justice, diversity and inclusion. The Drum Major for Service Award recognizes excellence in leadership, service, dedication and compassion. Please assist us in our desire to award those who give so much of themselves that our lives are more enriched. It can be your way of saying thank you to someone or an organization that made a difference in your life.

Nomination Form

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you as soon as possible
Oops. An error occurred.
Click here to try again.


Mia Brady -  Youth Leader of Tomorrow 

Sophia Toler  -  Youth Leader of Tomorrow

Ellen Hudson  -  Adult Community Leader

Emiko Moore -  Adult Community Leader

Emily Pennekamp, President of ArtScape Lebanon - Organizational

Leadership Award

ArtScape Lebanon - Organization

Leena Rekhi-Salmon - Organizational Leadership Award

PEACOC/Springboro Juneteenth  - Organization


Christiana Hardie -  Youth Leader of Tomorrow

Sahiba Salmon-Rekhi -  Youth Leader of Tomorrow

Renee Forrester - Adult Community Leader

Elizabeth Kimberlin - Adult Community Leader (posthumously)

Lebanon Food Pantry - Organization


Francesca Dishueme  - Youth Leader of Tomorrow

Hope McCarren - Youth Leader of Tomorrow

Steve Brady - Adult Community Leader

Elks #422 - Organization


Allison Bausmith - Youth Leader of Tomorrow

Linda Rabolt - Adult Community Leader

Resurrection Lutheran Church Art Ministry - Organization

Warrior Backpack Program - Organization


Pam Schiemann - Adult Community Leader

Laura Burke - Leader of Tomorrow

Prodigal Son Ministries - Organization

Sharen Eninger - Adult Community Leader
Hannah Louise McCarren -  Youth Leader of Tomorrow
Countryside YMCA - Organization

Mary Wells,  Adult Community Leader (posthumously)
Rev. Karen Schaeffer,  Adult Community Leader
Shawn Kimberlin, Youth Leader of Tomorrow
LHS ROTC, Organization

Mayor Amy Brewer,  Adult Community Leader
Rev. & Mrs. Woodson,  Adult Community Leaders
Alyne Scott,  Adult Community Leader
Home Depot, Organization
Bethel AME Church Organization

Sandra Offord,  Adult Community Leader
St. Patrick's Episcopal Church, Organization

Jay Mills,  Adult Community Leader
Well Dunn Photography, Organization

Lebanon Optimist Club,  Organization
Jean Benning, Adult Community Leader  

Mary Lou Harmon,  Adult Community Leader

2010 Freedom Honorees
James Mills
Ethel Sims
Marie Singleton
Barbara Younger

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.